Greetings from Mindo, Ecuador!

gary-schiltz

Greetings from Mindo, Ecuador!

Post by gary-schiltz » Fri Aug 30, 2019 5:15 pm

Around 1970, as a 12 year old Kansas farm boy, I started playing a beat-up old Montgomery Wards classical guitar. I didn't know any better, so I strung it with steel strings. That was fine for long enough to pick out the melody of Johnny Cash's "I Walk the Line" by ear, launching me on a long, enjoyable journey with six strings. The guitar didn't fare so well, soon bending the neck until it was completely unplayable. Thank you, old friend, for your sacrifice. If it's any consolation, I learned from my mistake.

Over the years, I honed my skills on acoustic steel-stringed guitars and classical guitars (mercifully strung with the correct nylon). The thing that I have sorely lacked has always been discipline, especially learning to read music. But instead of putting forth the effort to learn to read (even tablature), I took a perverse pride in being a "by-ear" only player. That, of course, severely limited my ability to progress. Having reached a plateau in my 40's, I got bored with guitar in my 50's.

Well, here I am at 60, retired, with a lot of time on my hands and the dawning realization that life is damned short. So I vowed to give it another shot. I tried a couple of online lesson sites for learning acoustic guitar. Both were good, but neither really felt right. For a variety of reasons, I felt the imperative to learn to read the conventional music notation that I had so long avoided. Since classical guitar instruction stresses music reading, I decided to switch gears to classical. Fortunately, I had kept a decent albeit inexpensive 1970's vintage Yamaha classical guitar.