Hi from Chapel Hill, NC

hsgreenside

Hi from Chapel Hill, NC

Post by hsgreenside » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:32 pm

Am just joining this forum, mainly to discover new classical guitar music and get some guidance or suggestions for playing pieces I am working on.

I have been playing classical guitar substantially for about twelve years now. In elementary school and junior high school, I played clarinet but lost interest in that instrument around high school, mainly because time became short and other interests became more important. When hitchhiking around Europe one summer as a college student, I met another college student in Paris France who played classical guitar and I was immediately attracted to the instrument: the beauty of some of its pieces, the kind of sound the instrument could produce, the intimate control of the sound by touching the strings, and the fact that one could play multiple voices which was a big improvement over the clarinet. So I bought my first classical guitar way back in 1977 from a guitar store in New York City (a Juan Orozco 62-U-18 for $700, which was a lot of money for me back then), started to take some lessons, and played for about four years. But then I got busy with graduate school and post-graduate research (I am a theoretical physicist who teaches and does research) and with starting and raising a family, and I put the guitar aside and did not pick it up again until many years later, after my two children left home for college and I felt it was ready to get involved with music again. Guitar then became a major part of my life where I took weekly lessons, played about 1-2 hours a day during the week and 2-4 hours over weekends, and continue to play regularly.

I now am playing currently a David Pace spruce guitar that I bought from the Classical Guitar Store (in Philidelphia) in 2016 for$7500 and have been quite happy with its sound and touch.