Hello From San Diego, California

DavidCharles
Student of the online lessons

Post by DavidCharles » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:34 pm

My name is Dave, and I have been learning guitar for over 50 years. Although, it would be more appropriate to say that for the first ten years or so I was more abusing the guitar than I was learning how to play as I was self taught in the outbacks of Alaska and the like, learning to play primarily by ear. I started playing guitar to music by The Ventures, Duane Eddy, Chuck Berry, and Buddy Holly, moving on to The Beatles and everything that followed.

I bought my first classical guitar, a Cervantes Rodriguez, about 12 years ago. I started taking lessons reading music and playing beginning classical pieces,and also attending classes on jazz guitar at the local junior college. Although I learned a lot, it ultimately proved difficult for me to continue these activities due primarily to my travel interruptions. I now to learn using tools such as Youtube, GuitarPro software, guitar forums and books. I still play electric guitar as well.

My skill on the classical guitar is limited, but I have managed to make it through Giuliani's 120 Right-Hand Studies and other works of beginner level classical guitar, and I have made progress improving my finger picking. My interest now is to learn more technique and strengthen my note reading capabilities. I am certain that becoming a member of this forum will be a great help in those endeavors, and I hope to contribute in return as well.

DavidCharles

Post by DavidCharles » Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:14 am

I am looking forward to becoming a member of this wonderful forum. There is such a depth of knowledge and available information that my concern is becoming overloaded.