Denmark calling

guitar_thomas

Denmark calling

Post by guitar_thomas » Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:09 am

Hello there!

I am a guitar teacher from Denmark, who used to be fairly active in here, but fatherhood, moving from one end of the country to the other and so forth caused me to be automatically deactivated and deleted - all as it should be! Due to bad memory, I now appear under this new user name, for the time being...

However, now I am back, and ready to participate again. What might interest some, is the fact, that I have for the past year been working on the collected solo guitar works of the great Heitor Villa-Lobos, as so many others have done before, and shared my experience with the world on guitarconfessions.blogspot.com. As one would expect, I have made an effort to do a thorough reading of especially the studies, and compared the Max Eschig version with the now famous and much debated manuscript version. I have not, however preferred one version over the other, and tried to be pragmatic, rather than dogmatic in my choices of wihch version to play which section from...

Other than working on Villa Lobos, I teach full time at a music school. Primarily guitar, both classical, steel strung acoustic, fingerstyle and with plectrum, and electric. Other than that, I teach rock bands, guitar ensemble and conduct a string ensemble consisting of cellos, violins and guitars.

I have appeared on a few recordings ranging from pop through tangos to modernist classical, and reularly perform with cover-bands, as well as classical guitar recitals - which are rarer, I must admit, partially because I find it hard to promote myself to venues and arrangers... It's a variety of modesty, that is not very helpful to a performing career. Luckily the bands that I play in, are marketed by other the members, and because of this, I still get to do what I love - play music to people!

All the best

Thomas Lyng Poulsen, Denmark