Warm greetings from Seattle.

amashadi

Warm greetings from Seattle.

Post by amashadi » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:33 am

Hello everyone-
My name is Arash and I am as green as it gets. A total beginner and 40 years old. I know, not an ideal age to start. Not even close!
On the bright side, I have 2 boys, 4 and 7 years old who love the sound of classical guitar and beginners as well :). To be fair to myself, I would have started when I was around 10 years old which was about the time I fell in love with flamenco guitar songs, however, I lived in a country where, at the time, music, in general, was considered a sin and was forbidden. A country where even listening to music was considered a crime. You could still buy a guitar (kinda underground), but my father could not afford such luxuries, he did try though. When he learned of my love for music and want of a guitar, he surprised me with a Nay, a treditional flute like instrument that is made from thick bamboo. He told me that though it was not a guitar, I could play music with it :) it's the thought that counts right!
Anyways, fast forward about 30 years and long after my scape from my homeland (literally), I think I can afford 3 guitars so I could start now along with my 2 sons. To be honest, I did buy a guitar as soon as I got out and learned some chords and tabs but being busy with building a life as an adult, I never became as serious as I liked about it.