Hello from Idaho

Arker

Hello from Idaho

Post by Arker » Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:29 am

A little about myself;

I don't really play six-string guitar, I am better with electric bass, but I find I like to 'play with' just about anything that has vibrating strings and I am slowly picking up the six-string.

I've played music in one form or another since I was pretty young (I am now 43,) I was maybe 8 when I was taught dulcimer, I played cornet in school, electric bass after that. I used to play my bass till my fingers bled but that didnt mean I was any good ;) and then I didnt play at all for many years and only recently got an instrument back in my hand; I am rusty even on bass and I don't consider myself a player anymore, just a tinkerer who loves stringed instruments.

I'm mostly self-taught, I did have some great lessons from great teachers that I did not take as seriously as I should many years ago, and sometimes they still pop up from memory to help.

It may not be the best to admit here but while I like classical music I like all kinds of music and was not drawn to the instrument for that. I do love the nylon-string sound, whether it's playing classical or baroque or folk or what have you, and I also particularly appreciate the form factor of the classical guitar. I have fairly large hands that are more accustomed to working the fretboard of a full size bass guitar, and find the fretboard of even relatively larger electric or steel-string acoustic guitars uncomfortably cramped. I try and try but no matter how carefully I fret I cannot get an open 'A' chord without muting a string somewhere, and I feel like nothing but fat fingers when I try to play leads.