Hello from San Jose, California

smiglo

Hello from San Jose, California

Post by smiglo » Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:17 pm

I have been playing classical guitar for 37 years. I started quite late at 30 years old, and began by reading a library book, but soon started taking local Junior College classes from a guitarist who had graduated from the Peabody Institute.

I first got interested at 18 when my cousin played a Segovia record for me -- I didn't know a guitar could sound like that!

I mostly play and listen to Classical and Romantic pieces, but like parlor music, like Joplin. I'm a decent sight reader, but cannot easily memorize the pieces.

I prefer solo guitar pieces by Sor, Aguado, Giuliani, Carcassi, and Carulli, but also like transcriptions non-guitar pieces by Bach, Mozart, Grieg, Ravel (OK, I like Impressionists, too), Debussey, Faure...

I come from a physics, mathematics, software engineering and chemistry background, so I am interested in the physics and mathematics of music and the construction of guitars.

I have 14 guitars, 12 classical. I have tried many combinations of soundboard and tone woods. I prefer spruce tops with either rosewood or palo escrito tone woods.

I am a retired technical director from a small Silicon Valley engineering company which produced satellite signal measurement software.

George Crocket

Re: Hello from San Jose, California

Post by George Crocket » Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:38 pm

Hi Smiglo.

Welcome to the forum. Your library book brought a smile to my face. I did that too, some 45 years ago - I still have it, but don't tell anyone.

If you have not already done so, please have a look at our welcome page for more information about the forum and its rules.

Afetr a second post you should subscribe to the 002 usergroup which provides access to levels 1 - 3 of the Delcamp score collection, amongst other things, (see here). After more posts you may apply for access to the higher levels of sheet music in Delcamp's library.