Some question I have as a halfway paused learner

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Chang

Some question I have as a halfway paused learner

Post by Chang » Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:08 am

Classical guitar teachers are pretty hard to find here in China. I was learning this 2years ago , but my teacher quit teaching now and I cannot find a new one. So self teaching is the only way out, cue my following questions.
Q1. Is it necessary to learn reading sheet music (I have no prior experience in any kind of instruments except classical guitar)?

Q2.How to proceed learning systemically? Is there a standard for that?

Q3.Is gesture the most important above all others?(eg. the guitar itself etc.)

sorry if those questions are somewhat childish , but classical guitar is really not so popular instrument in China.And I seriously don't know the answer to them :cry: :cry:

George Crocket

Re: Some question I have as a halfway paused learner

Post by George Crocket » Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:40 am

Hi Chang. I'm no teacher, so I shall leave your Q2 to members who are more expert than I.

Reading sheet music is such a big advantage that I would say it is essential. It may seem daunting to learn, but it is actually relatively simple with patience. Lots of help is available. Some people use tab only, but in my view that has its limitations.

By gesture I assume you mean things like posture and left and right hand technique - which we would put under the single heading of technique. You will see that technique is one of the sub-divisions of this main area of the forum. So it is seen as pretty important. I would guess that most of us would consider this the most essential part of learning to play classical guitar. Of course, none of that is as important as having a playable classical guitar in the first place. But a playable guitar need not be very expensive or difficult to come by.