Long unwanted break and recovery

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Garrie Miller

Long unwanted break and recovery

Post by Garrie Miller » Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:36 pm

I have been unable to play for about 2 years due to illness. I am now back to the point where I can again play. I have become fustrated with my playing, I had moved to intermediate books and felt I was progressing. I am thinking I should start again with the beginning books and see how I regain my skills. I am self taught now as I have no teacher close here in FL. Any suggestions on a practice schedule? Thanks RJ

Rick Beauregard
Student tutor

Re: Long unwanted break and recovery

Post by Rick Beauregard » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:53 pm

Check out the online lessons here’s on Delcamp. Nicely graded pieces you can tackle at your own pace as your facility returns.

I would think this would be great therapy for your condition. Keep us posted on your progress, and...

Welcome back!
:delcamp_ cool:
All this time I thought I was making music; it was making me.
2015 Steve Ganz "Solidarity"
1980 Dauphin D30
1962 Fender pre-CBS P-Bass
National Triolian Uke ca.1930
Almost as many fly rods as guitars
_/) _/)
_/)

Garrie Miller

Post by Garrie Miller » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:11 am

Thanks, been looking at the materials here, such a wealth

Tony Hyman

Post by Tony Hyman » Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:29 am

Great stuff keep bouncing back. :D :D

segobreawill

Post by segobreawill » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:18 pm

I would recommend going through Nathan Kolosko's 'The 120 Missing Right Hand Studies', to get your RH back into it BEFORE going into Giuliani's RH studies. As well, Sagreras Book I, i.e., First Lessons, is good to get things rolling again - slowly. After some time with that, you could try Segovia's C-major scale pattern (2-octaves) up and down the fingerboard in half-steps as your RH & LH get used to working together with different rhytmic patterns.