To Look or Not to Look at your LH - that is the question

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Carl

To Look or Not to Look at your LH - that is the question

Post by Carl » Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:36 pm

I am a beginner to CG and I have been trying to learn by reading/playing the music and not looking at my LH or RH.

This seems like a good way to go but thought it would be good to get other's views also?

So far everything is single notes but soon I will be getting to chords soon.

Guitar Slim

Post by Guitar Slim » Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:03 pm

Just a couple of points -- first, most professional CGers that I've seen watch their left hands at least a portion of the time, so it can't be that big a sin. That's not to say that, eventually, you shouldn't know the fretboard well enough to find your way around without having your eyes glued to the neck. But it's just not that big a deal.

And it doesn't need to interfere with sight reading, either. Just keep the music stand off to the left a bit so you can see the music and the left hand at the same time (It also keeps the stand from blocking the sound of the guitar!)

Finally, if and when you start working on the fine points of LH technique, you need to watch the left hand to make sure you're getting it right!

owl

Post by owl » Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:28 pm

Carl, if you do a search you will find this has been covered in detail.
Hre are a couple of threads to start you off.

viewtopic.php?t=13997&postdays=0&postor ... nd&start=0

viewtopic.php?t=10982&postdays=0&postor ... nd&start=0

I think the question is subjective as beginners NEED to sometimes look at their LH... advanced players shouldn't NEED to do this but most do... particularly in a performance situation.
Generally you don't have a music stand and it's just somewhere to focus your gaze... I know I do it but I don't actually SEE my LH... I just start out by looking in that direction.

Owl