How long to master a piece?

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
aranya

How long to master a piece?

Post by aranya » Tue Aug 25, 2009 6:05 pm

I've been working on several pieces for almost a year now, and I find that some of them I am only beginning to be able to play the way they should sound. Before that I haven't played for ages so I don't really have a lot of repertoire that I've mastered well enough to play in front of an audience, or record and post in the mp3 section, for example. I find that quite frustrating.

Some pieces go relatively smoothly, such as the 'Berceuse' by Leo Brouwer, which took me a few months to play relatively well, if I put some effort into it I might be able to make an acceptable recording of it. Others are incredibly hard and make me feel glad I don't have to listen to myself playing, like 'A felicidade' by Roland Dyens. Although I'm sure I'll get there eventually, I've accepted that it is going to be a long and frustrating journey if I ever want to play that piece properly.

Which makes me wonder, how long does it take a professional to master a piece like that? Does it take them as much time, or can they play it easily because they are at a totally different level of skill?

I'm also very interested to hear your personal experiences, what pieces can you play without errors and how long did it take you to get there? (and are you an amateur or a pro?)

Just curious.

David Norton

Re: How long to master a piece?

Post by David Norton » Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:24 pm

A guideline I was taught years ago was that you should be able to master/memorize 1 minute of music per week if the piece is at your correct skill-level. Easier pieces can take less time to memorize, while tougher ones will take longer. And of course "repeats don't count"; a Scarlatti sonata that lasts 4 minutes is really "only" 2 minutes long, but with each section being repeated.
David Norton