Guitar Masterclass Question

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
Juanito

Guitar Masterclass Question

Post by Juanito » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:00 am

I've been playing the classical guitar for two years now, but haven't learned to read musical notation because I was in a hurry to play music (I started at 49 and didn't want to take too long). So I've learned all the pieces I know using guitar tablature. I am currently and slowly learning some fairly involved (for me, at least) pieces like Tarrega's Gran Vals and Capricho Arabe.
As a serious but "under-educated" student of classical guitar, I have one question. Would it be a good idea (or would it be possible at all) for me to someday take a classical guitar masterclass even if I cannot read notation? I would practice my chosen piece for a long time and master it as best I can before I did the masterclass. i would provide a copy of the sheet music along with tablature to the maestro so we can be on the same page when discussing parts of the piece.
My question is theoretical for now...no opportunities yet for guitar masterclasses where I am. But I want to know if I can benefit from a masterclass even if I can't read music. Or would a maestro flat out refuse to teach me because I can't read notation?

Julian Ward

Re: Guitar Masterclass Question

Post by Julian Ward » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:14 am