Any tips for a piano beginner?

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
Tony.L

Any tips for a piano beginner?

Post by Tony.L » Sun May 19, 2019 5:54 am

Hello, does anyone know easy studies, exercises or any material to start playing the piano?

:desole:

ddray

Re: Any tips for a piano beginner?

Post by ddray » Sun May 19, 2019 8:13 am

How much of a beginner are you? Absolute beginner, or already have some knowledge? I never had any experience with the Alfred Adult Piano Course books, but they seem to be popular with adult learners these days. Czerny's Practical Method for Beginners (Op. 599) might be a starting point. It can be had pretty cheap. Bergmüller's Easy and Progressive Studies are another.
I would suggest not getting hung up on doing just rote scales and exercises though. Find tuneful, enjoyable things to try to play, even if you have to take melodic and harmonic lines separately at first. Look for the "Little Preludes" and Two-part Inventions by Bach.

Tony.L

Post by Tony.L » Sun May 19, 2019 1:40 pm

I already have the basics, I’ve seen some lessons, and exercises like Hanon and Gurlitt studies, but I would like to know if there’s like any easy repertoire to get started with? I mean to improve “step by step”

And thank you for your response

CathyCate

Post by CathyCate » Sun May 19, 2019 2:32 pm

There are many things available online and at the music store if you have one nearby.
Piano tutors/publishers are helpful with creating "graded studies" that will allow you to progress step by step. No need to rush through things or move along any faster than you are able. I like: Bartok's- Mikrokosmos (available in 6 graded volumes),published/distributed by Leonard. I also like Czerny-Schaum Editions books 1 and 2: published/distributed by Alfred.
There is a periodical, Pianist, based in the UK and issued maybe 6 times a year. It is pricey, but comes with it's own CD and includes sheet music for all player levels.