FAQ on classical guitar strings?

Choice of classical guitar strings and technical issues connected with their use.
Matthew

FAQ on classical guitar strings?

Post by Matthew » Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:57 pm

I like to think I am an advanced beginner or very early intermediate player playing an Alhambra Senorita (7/8 scale). Is there a good FAQ on guitar strings on line? I wonder what tension is best for a smaller guitar and also would like to know advantages/disadvantages between the different nylon trebles and steel wound bass choices. Thanks in advance and happy holidays to all!

Chuah Hui Hsien

Re: FAQ on classical guitar strings?

Post by Chuah Hui Hsien » Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:15 am

Yes, there are a lot of topics discussing about strings,and many helpful reviews on various made and tension of strings that the forum members have used on their own guitars.Some of them are truly "guitar strings masters" indeed,they have the "tried and tested" first hand knowledge. You will be grateful for their tips.

But, you must bear in mind that each guitar has their own unique character, the wood choices, the design, scale length, sometimes the humidity level, your nails... etc.All these factors will contribute to the final tonal quality you would receive.

I own a full size Alhambra, it sounds good with D'addario EJ or EXP 45/46.The only draw back is the 3rd string G feel slack and thuddy.The EJ45/46 C comes with composite G string.This is basic guideline,from here you can explore to various brands, some are cheap but not lasting, some are expensive and good but also not lasting (so called performance strings, you have to avoid).

Generally, carbon or titanium strings are more expensive than normal nylon,also stiffer under the fingers.If you play with long nails, you will ruin or scratch the carbon,titanium, cristal clear nylon very fast.

Alhambra guitars are versatile,they are okay with any made of strings, just make sure the tensions are suitable.