Patrick Mailloux - luthier

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Patrick Mailloux

Patrick Mailloux - luthier

Post by Patrick Mailloux » Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:10 pm

Hello everyone

My name is Patrick Mailloux. I am a luthier from Quebec City, Canada.

I would just like to share with you a new design that I have come up with. It is called a "Double Floating Back", and it basically is a second back placed inside the soundbox about 8mm over the normal back. It is made of Cedar and it vibrates sympathetically with the normal Spruce top, creating its own sound waves, thus adding projection, sustain and warmth to the normal Spruce top sound.

You can have a look and listen to a sound clip of it by clicking on the "What's new for April 2006" feature on the home page of my site, at:

http://www.patmaillouxluthier.com

Please feel free to ask any question or comment on this new design.

Thanks, and best regards.

and1974

Post by and1974 » Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:37 pm

I am wondering how does it compare with double top guitars?

hav

Post by hav » Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:10 pm

Neat - and nice looking & sounding guitars but the "What's New..." links on the main front page don't work (I'm using firefox)

Patrick Mailloux

Post by Patrick Mailloux » Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:30 pm

and1974 wrote:I am wondering how does it compare with double top guitars?
I can't compare it to what others do, because it would be apples and oranges.