James Lister - French Polishing DVD

Under this heading you can announce your own events and work products, including the publications of books, magazines, sheet music, CDs, videos, guitars you build, professional events like shows, training courses, festivals and competitions. Any member of the forum who wishes, may open a thread in this forum (but only one) using his/her name for the promotion of their efforts without limitation on the number of posts.
James Lister
Luthier

James Lister - French Polishing DVD

Post by James Lister » Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:09 pm

Hi Folks,

I'm sure most members of the forum are by now aware that I make guitars for a living, but over the past 9 months I've also been busy putting together a DVD guide to the art of French polishing guitars. When I first had the idea, the plan was to just make a short DVD for my students at Newark College as a reference, but after some discussions with a friend (and fellow guitarist) who happens to be a film-maker, we decided to go for something a bit more ambitious! We finished filming the DVD about 4 months ago, and there followed a LOT of work by my partner editing, tweaking, writing, printing and generally making the whole thing look professional.

The result is a comprehensive guide to French polishing guitars. The DVD is over 150 minutes long, and is accompanied by a 16-page booklet, which summarises the contents of the DVD, and adds a few details, and lists materials required and suggested suppliers.

The DVD has been "road-tested" on a couple of my students, who complemented it on being clear and thorough (no-one has yet said that it's a thrill a minute though!)
DVD07s.jpg