LH fingertips sore from pressing too hard

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Mark Featherstone

LH fingertips sore from pressing too hard

Post by Mark Featherstone » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:30 pm

Hi all,

I have been playing CG for about 4 or 5 years now, and have made a lot of progress in achieving a lighter touch with the LH fingertips. Despite this, I still occasionally wince with pain from having pressed too hard. Now, I really don't think I am pressing that hard when this happens, and I have a feeling that I may be more sensitive than most. This may be related to the fact that the calluses on my LH fingertips are minimal, nothing like the great calluses I had years ago playing steel string acoustic guitar.

So I guess my questions are: (1) Is it the case that some people are particularly susceptible to LH fingertip pain? (2) Should I have better calluses after playing an hour a day most days for 4 or 5 years? (3) Is there a way to build up calluses? I suppose I could buy a steel string and play on that for part of my practice time, assuming that would help.

Thanks for your thoughts.
Mark
Francisco Navarro Concert Classical, cedar top, 630 mm scale, 50 mm nut

"The trouble with normal is it always gets worse."
Bruce Cockburn

celestemcc

Re: LH fingertips sore from pressing too hard

Post by celestemcc » Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:48 pm

is it all your fingertips? Just your pinky, perhaps? Just trying to see if there's a particular pattern. Otherwise --