Musescore 3.0 Fermata vs dots

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
SteveL123

Musescore 3.0 Fermata vs dots

Post by SteveL123 » Tue May 07, 2019 2:53 pm

I downloaded a Musescore Bach Fugue that has a few errors in notes and timing (according to my ears), with the intent to edit the errors. I am new to Musescore and my knowledge of musical notation is that of a beginner.

Anyway, I came across multiple symbols above a note that I thought was a tie at first (it looks like a tie except it has a dot under it). After further investigation, I learned the symbol is a Fermata, not a tie.

Here's my question: Does a Fermata symbol alter the duration of a note in Musescore 3.0? If so, by how much?

One of the Fermata symbol was black, the other was gray. What is the difference?

Arion Romanus

Re: Musescore 3.0 Fermata vs dots

Post by Arion Romanus » Tue May 07, 2019 3:06 pm

Again, I'm using MuseScore 2 so it might be slightly different for you, but if you click on the fermata a bunch of options should appear in the "Inspector" window (on the right side of my screen, but if you don't see it you can activate it in the "view" menu on top). In the inspector there should be a option for "time stretch", which determines how much the note is extended during playback. I believe the default is set to "1.0" which means the note is not elongated at all, but you can change this if you want. 1.5 would make it one and a half times longer and so on. Since someone else made your score, they'll probably have changed the option somehow, so if you want the note to be of standard length, set it to "1.0".