Outdated fingering?

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
dhbailey52

Outdated fingering?

Post by dhbailey52 » Mon May 20, 2019 10:16 am

I'm new to the classical guitar world but have extensive experience in the folk/rock guitar world as well as with brass and woodwind instruments.

In several different messages I've seen reference to "outdated fingering," most recently in the 2-year old thread comparing the Noad and the Duncan method books.

Looking at some on-line classical guitar music which shows fingerings, I've noticed that some are advocating using finger 4 for the D on the second string and for the G on the first string. I've always used finger 3 for those notes, having been taught "each finger gets its own fret" in each position up and down the neck, and having had great results teaching that concept for folk/rock guitar students.

So using the one-finger/one-fret system on the first string I would finger F-1, F#-2, G-3, G#-4 and on the second string it would be C-1, C#-2, D-3, D#-4.

What is the general consensus here regarding those two different fingering approaches - G and D using finger 3 or D and D using finger 4 (in which case what to people do with finger 3?)

Thanks for any insights!

Mark Clifton-Gaultier

Re: Outdated fingering?

Post by Mark Clifton-Gaultier » Mon May 20, 2019 10:47 am

dhbailey52 wrote: What is the general consensus here regarding those two different fingering approaches ...
The issue has been discussed several times already (the fourth finger method was documented at least as early as the 17th century and has been in use ever since) - search the forum for "fourth finger approach" or "fourth finger method" and you should find relevant threads.

Here's one: https://www.classicalguitardelcamp.com/ ... 6&t=124857

Tom Poore

Post by Tom Poore » Mon May 20, 2019 1:22 pm