Best Bach for Beginners?

Respect Copyrights : Any messages offering illegal material or links to sites that provide unauthorized, copyrighted material will be removed by the moderators.
Forum rules
Respect Copyrights : Any messages offering illegal material or links to sites that provide unauthorized, copyrighted material will be removed by the moderators.
dukerb

Best Bach for Beginners?

Post by dukerb » Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:34 pm

Greetings all!

I have a question which is "what do you recommend for beginners in Bach's collection"?

I studied classical piano for 12 years, it has been 16 since I have played, so I don't want to make the mistake of getting in over my head at first and then becoming discouraged. I am also wondering if you know or have a suggestion for a best book for beginners overall...

Thanks so much in advance,

Mike H. :merci:

Bernhard Heimann

Re: Best Bach for Beginners?

Post by Bernhard Heimann » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:23 pm

Hi!

In your message you told us about your experience with classical piano - but not
your guitar playing.
If you are looking for (original) Bach pieces for guitar beginners - there are none.
Bach didn't compose for classical guitar, his lute suites transcribed for guitar are advanced material,
but the good news come at the end: there are tons of Bach pieces transcribed for guitar and I guess you are
looking for a collection of these with pieces for beginners. Am I right? If so, let me know.

Bernhard :)

dukerb

Post by dukerb » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:29 pm

Hi Bernhard!

Thank you very much for your reply and clarification about Bach's music. I remember from piano, that his work is quite technical, so it may be too early for this on the guitar! Just one of my favorites.

I have very little guitar experience. Took lessons when I was quite young, still remember a few basic chords, but I am afraid that is about all right now!