Hand exercises prior to playing

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
LarryShone
Student of the online lessons

Hand exercises prior to playing

Post by LarryShone » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:39 pm

I hope this is the right place for this...I'm technically a beginner to classical and I'm taking it slow, doing basic playing exercises from videos (p.i .m.a right hand, 1,2,3,4 left hand) and I've noticed after a while my left wrist aches a little. I'm guessing this is because I'm new to training, even tho I've messed around with guitars on and off for years but never trained properly for fingerstyle. Anyway, I have a pair of sprung hand exercisers, you squeeze them and release slowly, and I was wondering if the use of such is a good or a bad idea. I have only just started using them, in fact I just had the idea of using them before playing tonight, 10 repetitions of squeeze and release, followed by a 15 minute playing session after a while.
Surround yourself with people dear James, they are easier to fight for than principles.
José Ferrer Estudiante 5208A
Fender DG 5 acoustic
Tanglewood DBLT SFCE electro-acoustic
Tanglewood TU 13M concert ukulele
Brunswick Baritone ukulele
Deacon Mandolin

George2ec

Re: Hand exercises prior to playing

Post by George2ec » Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:12 pm

Hi, the exercise that you describe, even if you are beginner, wouldn't be hurt you, to play that exercise you don't need too much force, maybe you are to putting to much force, or your left hand position is incorrect or you are playing with to much tension, try to check this variables and try to relax don´t press the string with unnecessary force. I think that you don't need to squeeze anything, for my experience the best exercises for hands of guitar players, are the exercises for extensors muscles not for the flexors muscles.
ps. sorry for my bad english.

Erik Zurcher

Post by Erik Zurcher » Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:40 pm