2nd-3rd finger separation

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
gypscoun

2nd-3rd finger separation

Post by gypscoun » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:15 am

Hi,

I have this problem with my left hand... whenever I'm moving my 2nd finger on my left hand, the 3rd finger moves along with it.
I know it's not uncommon for one finger's movents to cause some other finger's movement, but in my case, it's pretty severe.
Please see photo attached, where I'm moving both my right hand and left hand 2nd finger. See how my left hand's 3rd finger is curled almost all the way along with my 2nd finger (the only finger I'm trying to curl).

It's really frustrates me, as I'm a professional guitar player with very high standards, And this problem making my playing sloppy. Especially whenever I need to play the 2nd finger right after the 3rd finger (or vice versa).

Does anyone else around here suffers from the same problem? and more importantly, does any of you have any suggestion on how can I improve (or overcome? I wish..) this lack of seperation issue?

Many thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Cao Nguyen

Re: 2nd-3rd finger seperation

Post by Cao Nguyen » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:48 am

For me it's the right hand fingers that lack independence. I can flex any of the 4 fingers of my left hand from the middle joint without affecting the others. I can also simultaneously flex and/or extend any pair of them, including the 3rd and 4th. My right hand couldn't do those. But I realized that with some training, it could too. It just takes a few days to make a new set of muscle memory.