What just happened? Sudden pain in LH pinky while playing

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
twang

What just happened? Sudden pain in LH pinky while playing

Post by twang » Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:57 pm

So, it was towards the end of my practice this morning, I was good and warmed up. I had just played through a waltz that _requires_ a relaxed left-hand to play successfully. I started playing it again when suddenly pressing a string with my LH pinky caused a sharp pain near the joint closest to the finger tip. Within a couple of minutes it was clear I was done for the day.

It only hurts when pressing with the finger. It doesn't seem swollen. I can bend it just fine. It doesn't hurt to touch the finger. After about an hour I added a splint to prevent accidental irritation. But, after a full day it's not any better. Normally, I wouldn't worry about it, except this is the finger I broke years ago and the very joint where I had mallet-finger.

Any guesses as to what might have happened? (Yes, I'll go see a doc in the morning if it ain't better.)

Dang,
Twang
"An amateur is he who takes up the study of an instrument as a relaxation from his serious occupations." -- Sor

Tom Poore

Re: What just happened? Sudden pain in LH pinky while playing

Post by Tom Poore » Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:05 am

I’m not a doctor, so anything that follows should be read with this in mind.

It may be nothing more than a strained tendon. Unfortunately, it hurts like hell and takes time to heal. About 25 years ago I did this to my left hand first finger while playing the Sor etude in thirds. I reached for a bar and had a sudden shot of pain along the back of my finger. After that, I could still play, but had to be very careful with bar chords. If I did a bar wrong, it was very painful.