post practice ice baths

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Jeffrey Armbruster

post practice ice baths

Post by Jeffrey Armbruster » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:23 pm

If I've been playing a lot I've taken to plunging my hands into an ice bath for a few minutes afterwards. it seems to help with recovery. Basketball players and other athletes will do this after their games. However, I also have a tendency to do stupid things that seemed like a good idea at the time. Does anybody have advice/warnings about doing this (like, repeated ice baths lead to bone deterioration or something along those lines.)

Big bird

Re: post practice ice baths

Post by Big bird » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:51 pm

I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV. I am old, an ex-athlete, still very active and an ice junkie. IMHO, there isn't a downside to what you are doing given you don't ice your hands for more than 20 minutes give or take. Relieves inflamation, increases blood flow.... I think your fine.
2017 Yamaha SLG200NW

Chris Sobel
Luthier

Post by Chris Sobel » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:03 pm

Jeffrey,

I spent most of the last decade working in a particular field of medicine, and working out at a high level, that ice has become a very familiar friend to me, and one I prescribe often to others…

The ice reduces inflammation in the area that's iced, so what you're experiencing is a reduction in post-exercise inflammation, which speeds up your recovery in the sense that less inflammation leads to less tissue breakdown, and a better overall environment for your muscles and connective tissue to recover. This is a very well documented and studied area of medicine--they're even now taking it to the next level by putting cardiac transplant patients in a semi-hypothermic state on ice because it slows everything down in a favorable way so to speak...