Classical Guitar Posture

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
AlexLowe

Classical Guitar Posture

Post by AlexLowe » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:49 am

Good Morning

I have a lot of experience playing the electric and acoustic guitar, and was wondering why the posture of playing the classical guitar is so different? There seems to be no reason other than to allow the fretting hand to play at a more generous angle for the great volume of fingerpicked chords. But I think I am missing something.

I am hoping to begin at the beginning with the music available on here, and want to 'get it right' from the start.

Thanks in advance.

alexdegroot

Re: Classical Guitar Posture

Post by alexdegroot » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:57 am

With the posture used in classical guitar you will have your body in the least limiting position to play the guitar, it plays so much more easy and relaxed once you get used to this position.

Once you have played in the classical position for a while and then try to go back the the guitar on right lap you understand how limiting that position actually is :)

This is a very good video, Abel talks a lot about body position and both hand positioning here.

A Guitar Lesson with Abel Carlevaro.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-XbUkcjuMds

AlexLowe

Post by AlexLowe » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:33 pm

Thank you very much!

I will watch the video when I have a little more time and then get back to you.

I learned to play the electric and acoustic sitting down, which I have since discovered is a bad idea. Perhaps altering to the classical posture will transfer well to playing standing up...

All the best

dropbydrop

Post by dropbydrop » Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:32 pm

Great lesson! :merci:

This video is what I need in this period of early practice of a biginner like me :oops:
first comes right, than comes fast!

AlexLowe

Post by AlexLowe » Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:12 pm