Sitting Position, crossleg vs foot rest

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
tbgttt

Sitting Position, crossleg vs foot rest

Post by tbgttt » Tue Oct 31, 2006 11:27 am

I'm a very new beginner (6 weeks) and find that I prefer sitting crosslegged as opposed to using a foot rest. I also find that I'm more comfortable with right leg over left, whereas everything I read says it should be left over right.

Am I making a mistake here? Is this really a big deal? Should I force myself to learn with a foot rest?

tbgttt

guitarstudent

Post by guitarstudent » Tue Oct 31, 2006 3:37 pm

sounds like you have adopted Paco De Lucia's position. Are you sure you are not a flamenco player?

Nick1411

Post by Nick1411 » Tue Oct 31, 2006 4:43 pm

I don't know if this is helpful or not, but when I started CG I started playing with the guitar resting on my right leg and the next in front of me. This was a result of amateur steel string playing for so long.

It was difficult for me at first to adopt a more standard posture. It felt kinda weird having my left arm out so far to the side and it definately felt strange having my foot up on a stool. How am I supposed to stand up and rock the crowd in this manner?? :D

I stuck with it and after a while (a month or two) it felt very normal and comfortable. I really prefer playing this way now and play my steel string this way most of the time as well.

I'll let someone else get into the details of Why or Why Not because there are a lot more experienced people out there than me, but I typically take a "Do it the way all the masters recommend it unless you've got a good educated reason not to." I guess if you are learning and comfortable, not causing any pain, and its not hampering your ability, then go ahead.

Although I read somewhere that bad technique may not cause problems right away and the determintal effects may not show up until much further along, when its harder to fix.