Left hand index finger problem

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Tom4103

Left hand index finger problem

Post by Tom4103 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:19 am

I have read several posts here about tendonitis, trigger finger etc but I am unclear whether this is what I am suffering from.
I am an amateur guitarist in my 70s, had a bit of arthitis in my left wrist, which could be controlled by Voltaren gel.
Suddenly I have another problem: after playing for about 15 minutes my left index finger goes completely taut and locks painfully in a straight position about 45 degrees forward and away from my other fingers, towards my palm. I have to gently push it back to a normal position, but as soon as I try to start playing, off it goes again and locks up straight and angled forward.
I would be grateful for any comments, diagnosis, ideas - in fact anything at all from anyone who might be able to help.
Many thanks in advance!

segobreawill

Re: Left hand index finger problem

Post by segobreawill » Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:30 pm

Sometimes taking a break for several days (or more!) to give the hands/fingers a rest isn't too bad an idea. We love our instrument and the practice that goes with it, but it's quite a hammering that our hands take depending on our technique of playing the guitar: Some are able to glide over the fretboard like a butterfly, while others aren't so refined.

Also, try to think back and see if you did some chore where you may have strained your hands/fingers and not have given it a second thought. It's only days later, when practicing and the pain appears, that you realize it. That happens to me more often that I want.

But, this may not be it at all. If it persists, you may have to go and have it checked out at the doctor.

msa3psu

Re: Left hand index finger problem

Post by msa3psu » Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:48 pm