Practicing with right hand only

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
bazzer1970

Practicing with right hand only

Post by bazzer1970 » Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:41 am

Hi All

I am having an operation next week on my left hand for carpal tunnel sydrome. Obviously playing the guitar is a no go but thought it may give me an opportunity to work on some right hand technique, to keep my hand in as it were!
I'm thinking maybe practice giulianis 120 arpeggio patterns, and I have never tried tremolo so maybe have a go at that. I am a relative beginner, been having lessons for nine months, none of which has included any specific tecchniqe work, scales ect, so this is probably a good opportunity to do some pure technique work on the right hand. Will probably be a little boring but better than nothing.
would be interested to hear your opinions, anybody had the same operation and done a similar thing and of course any suggesgions for other right hand excercises would be much appreciated

Thanks

barry

owl

Post by owl » Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:54 am

Hello Barry... it's a good idea to keep up and improve your RH studies... it will definitely keep you on track.

Here are a couple of articles by Philip Hii that might be of interest to you... one on the RH and one on tremolo.

I don't know how advanced you are but this is also a good time to practice your 'reading'.

Good luck with the op... keep us posted and let's know how you get on

Owl

http://www.delmar.edu/music/teachcol.html

http://www.nyccgs.org/resources/newslet ... ng_the.php
Never, ever give up!... I leave my songprint on your heart.

bazzer1970

Post by bazzer1970 » Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:28 pm

Hi Owl
Thanks for the reply and the links thats just the sort of thing I need.
I'm not very advanced and my sight reading is probably level 1 or 2 max!