I've got a problem with my right hand

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
liranm

I've got a problem with my right hand

Post by liranm » Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:23 pm

Hello there folks!
I have a problem with my right hand - it's not with playing, it's just the look of my right hand, the wrist is twisted too much while playing, I tried to avoid it but I can't.
Is it a bad thing?

if you don't know what i'm talking about, here is a link to a video I posted on youtube, so you can see what i'm talking about:

[yutube: "Liran plays "Lied der Wildrose""]

People have told me it looks weird and that's how I noticed it and I see other people's right hand looks different - which is more beautiful to the eye. Also I have to say that I never took guitar lessons (i'm self taught) so maybe I didn't learn the basic stuff and I just play less than a year classical music(before i just played eletctric)

I hope you can help me and give me tips how to avoid this - and even if it's ok to keep playing like that - since I don't feel pain or anything

Michael.N.

Re: I've got a problem with my right hand

Post by Michael.N. » Tue Nov 13, 2007 9:26 pm

You're playing the 'old fashioned' way. That is the way I was taught and you already know that your wrist is 'twisted' and not in line with the forearm. Unfortunately it can lead to some serious problems, maybe sometime in the future but it's virtually impossible to predict if it will happen. Some guitarists can play with the most odd and uncomfortable looking positions yet never suffer from tension or injuries. Others are not so fortunate.
I think it might be worth going to a good teacher, if only for a few lessons just to check your technique and perhaps give you ideas on how to procede.
Historicalguitars.

michaelferris

Post by michaelferris » Tue Nov 13, 2007 9:31 pm