Leg is numb

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
vm5387

Leg is numb

Post by vm5387 » Thu May 01, 2008 6:58 am

Hi everyone! i recently just discovered this forum and it looks really cool. any who i am a beginner and i was wondering if someone would please help me with my problem. I love guitar and i really want to play it as much as i can but what keeps stopping me is that whenever i try to play it my left leg always falls asleep. i have tried many positions and they all end up the same. for the most part i practiced in the classical position with the guitar on the left leg with a footstool. i have read many articles about the proper way to hold the guitar, but it always ends up asleep, my leg that is. any suggestions would be much appreciated. thanks!

Vesuvio

Re: Leg is numb

Post by Vesuvio » Thu May 01, 2008 7:07 am

Hello VM5387,

Time to investigate other kinds of guitar support?

You will find numerous discussions here relating to e.g. Ergoplay, Dynarette etc. These may enable you to lower the eight of your footstool or even to play without it,

Best wishes, V
"There are only two things worth aiming for, good music and a clean conscience." Paul Hindemith

vm5387

Post by vm5387 » Thu May 01, 2008 7:13 am

thanks Vesuvio ill check those out.

zeroeffect

Post by zeroeffect » Thu May 01, 2008 1:49 pm

Are you playing for long periods at a time? You should really take a 30 min break for every hour you practice. Any long than an hour in that position is probably not a good thing.

vm5387

Post by vm5387 » Fri May 02, 2008 5:50 am

i dont play for long periods or time. ill sit and my leg will go to sleep in around five to ten minutes.

Nick Cutroneo

Post by Nick Cutroneo » Fri May 02, 2008 6:22 am