Believe it or not...

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
steelbender

Believe it or not...

Post by steelbender » Wed May 28, 2008 3:34 pm

Hey all,

When I started playing, 3 years ago, I went from 0 hours/day to 3-4 hours 7 days a week. That lasted about a year 1/2. I woke up with SHARP, shooting pain in my wrist. After rest, stretching, exercises, and much more careful practice, I have very little trouble. Very minor discomfort/stiffness after an intense practice.

A friend gave me a magnetic bracelet as a gift a while ago. I was a complete sceptic...until I wore it. Very quickly noticed less discomfort. It works every time, though i have no idea why.

It definately doesn't fix injuries, but it lessens pain.

Just my 2 cents

SB

Vesuvio

Re: Believe it or not...

Post by Vesuvio » Wed May 28, 2008 4:38 pm

Hello SB,

I am glad you are over your wrist problem now—and pleased you are taking better care of yourself. These kinds of things can stop people playing for good if not dealt with.

I would be interested to hear what any of our medical members have to say about magnetic bracelets,

All the best, V :)
"There are only two things worth aiming for, good music and a clean conscience." Paul Hindemith

pogmoor

Post by pogmoor » Wed May 28, 2008 4:47 pm

We doctors refer to it as the placebo effect :wink:
Eric from GuitarLoot
Renaissance and Baroque freak; classical guitars by Lester Backshall (2008), Ramirez (Guitarra del Tiempo 2017),
Yamaha (SLG 130NW silent classical guitar 2014).

jdhunt

Post by jdhunt » Wed May 28, 2008 5:43 pm

pogmoor wrote:We doctors refer to it as the placebo effect :wink: