Left Shoulder Discomfort on Low Frets

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
crue

Left Shoulder Discomfort on Low Frets

Post by crue » Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:58 pm

I've just started learning the guitar about a month ago. My primary goal will be in learning rock guitar (rhythm guitar), but I have found the information regarding guitar positioning and ergonomics to be much more well-documented regarding the classical guitar. Lately, I've been experimenting with placing the guitar on my left leg in the classical position versus placing it on the right leg.

I've been studying proper positioning for a few weeks now, and I've got two books on classical guitar, a membership to mangore.com, and a dvd set on rock guitar that I reference, and for some reason, my left shoulder aches when I'm in the classical position. Since I'm a beginner rock guitar player, I'm primarily working on open chords on the first and second frets and making good progress there. I have not ventured further down the neck yet, so I practice for about 30 minutes at a time with my left hand in the first or second frets.