Cold fingers as a result of poor blood circulation

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Mrs Segovia

Cold fingers as a result of poor blood circulation

Post by Mrs Segovia » Wed May 06, 2009 1:48 am

I am a guitarist that is unfortunately afflicted with poor blood circulation in her hands. i have had this all my life is there some kind of medical condition i have that I am not aware of or is this normal . Sometimes it makes guitar playing uncomfortable cause of the feeling in my hands .not to mention shaking people's hands after playing a good performance usually scares them off once they touch my hands ....I guess it back to do Giuliani's 120 right hand exercises to warm them up .

JinMe

Re: Cold fingers as a result of poor blood circulation

Post by JinMe » Thu May 07, 2009 12:05 am

Hi Mrs S -
In colder weather I am subject to "Raynaud's phenomenon" that causes my fingers to become numb with a loss of color (i.e., the tips turn white due to restricted blood flow). The phenomenon occurs as a result of the spasm of blood vessels. You might google the term and see if it sounds like something that affects you. When it happens, I exercise my fingers and usually stick them in some available warm place.

Janet

Mrs Segovia

Post by Mrs Segovia » Thu May 07, 2009 12:14 am

my fingers are alright just very cold to the touch good thing i quit smoking but could it be an adverse reaction to the cigarettes I used to smoke ?

60moo

Post by 60moo » Thu May 07, 2009 12:24 am

Mrs Segovia - The surprise reaction to a handshake made me think of Raynaud's as well, given you've had this all your life. Cooler weather brings it on, and for some who have it, their other extremeties e.g. feet are also affected. Quite common amongst women (1 in 5), and calcium-channel blocker medication to open up the capillaries helps a lot. I have this situation, but it's a good idea to see the doctor just to make sure.

Regards, Moo.