Stiffening Left Hand Knuckles

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
reginald_herring

Stiffening Left Hand Knuckles

Post by reginald_herring » Sun May 17, 2009 7:32 am

Hi, I wanted to know more about the developing condition of my left hand. I've been playing for about six months now and it's become very difficult for me to touch the pads of my left fingertips to the top of my palm. The first, second, and third fingers are now stiff at the second joints, but if I put a lot of effort into it I can still collapse them all the way down like I used to.

The stiffness seems to be worse in the morning when I first get out of bed. I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong with my attack. Maybe I should switch to different tension strings to compensate? I'm using D'Addario Pro-Arte, hard tension.

James

Re: Stiffening Left Hand Knuckles

Post by James » Sun May 17, 2009 9:41 am

I am assuming it's your fretting hand. Maybe it's overuse? How many hours a day do you practice? Do you have rest breaks? Do you warm-up your fingers? Perhaps you are applying too much pressure on the strings? Let go of some left arm tension if that is the case. Maybe it is your actual posture. Check it with a mirror, or get feedback from a friend. It could be due to faulty left arm position.......but that could also be due to the position of the guitar. If have only been playing for six months I would recommend you review a few of the above points. Your age may be a factor. Osteoarthritis, if perhaps 50 and above. Perhaps it is the middle of winter. Joints tend to stiffen up in the colder weather. Anyway, loads of possibilities, with quite a few I haven't mentioned. If it persists (worsens?) you may need medical advice.

reginald_herring

Post by reginald_herring » Sun May 17, 2009 10:37 am