Just Got a New Chair

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Supperconductor

Just Got a New Chair

Post by Supperconductor » Fri Mar 30, 2012 2:19 am

I've been taking weekly lessons for about 9 months and finally got fed up with myself at the lack of progress I've made thus far. So about two weeks ago, I started practicing 30-90 minutes daily. I began experiencing discomfort in the form of groin numbness. I had been using a very old draftsman chair with the casters removed (to get the seat as low as possible). The new chair which I will start using tonight is a "Pearl D2500BR Drum Throne with Backrest". I'll report back after a few sessions on it.

George Crocket

Re: Just Got a New Chair

Post by George Crocket » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:39 am

Daily practice is surely the basic requirement for progressing, so you are doing the right thing. If you are experiencing groin discomfort, perhaps splitting your practice sessions with regular breaks would help. Say taking 5 minutes off to stretch your legs after every 20 or 30 minutes?

Of course the right seat helps too.
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

Supperconductor

Post by Supperconductor » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:44 am

Hi George,

Quite right about the breaks. But I find I can lose myself during practice. Tonight an hour had passed before I stood up and took a break. For this first session at least, the new chair seems to be better than the old one.

George Crocket

Post by George Crocket » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:45 am

I'm glad it seemed better. Add a few breaks and it might solve the problem altogether. If you do get los, and I do that too, then just use an alarm clock.
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

AndreiKrylov

Post by AndreiKrylov » Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:45 pm

Supperconductor wrote:Hi George,