Is this correct right hand position?

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Jacob

Is this correct right hand position?

Post by Jacob » Tue May 23, 2006 3:34 pm

Hello, I'am just starting to play claSsical, but I'ved played steel strings for about 4 years now. I have a habit of resting my forarm on top of my guitar when I play Steel acoustic, but for classical, do I need to have my right hand free floating and not resting on top of the guitar?

Any advice or pictures of the forarm available out here in the net?

hav

Post by hav » Tue May 23, 2006 6:37 pm

I pulled this response - I think the pic below is great!
Last edited by hav on Tue May 23, 2006 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

btb

Post by btb » Tue May 23, 2006 7:37 pm

i was under the impression (in my usual self-taught fumbling way) that you should rest your right forearm just slightly on the guitar :shock:

i use it partly as an anchor, and also to counter the force of holding down bar chords using the left arm muscles... If i need to i just lift my arm off the guitar temporarily to move around.

Is this really a BAD habit? Seems like a lot of the pros do it... i think my right arm would get tired out sooner holding it up off the guitar. :daccord:

Jacob

Post by Jacob » Tue May 23, 2006 7:41 pm

Ah yes I see now :ouioui: No wonder my right hand starts falling asleep when I play classical (with my forarm rested on the top), because the circulation on my forarm was getting cut off!! :lol:

Thank you, I'll work at it, because when ever "I DO" keep my RH afloat my shoulder inturn, gets tired. I really still have to work on this. :D

Jacob

Post by Jacob » Tue May 23, 2006 7:41 pm

Progress is slow :lol:

Ben K.

Post by Ben K. » Tue May 23, 2006 7:47 pm

bumpa wrote:i was under the impression (in my usual self-taught fumbling way) that you should rest your right forearm just slightly on the guitar :shock: