Nerve pain in palm of hand

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Sean W

Nerve pain in palm of hand

Post by Sean W » Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:12 pm

Recently (the last week or two) I've had a couple of instances where I get a sharp nerve pain in my inner palm. I have been playing for many years and I understand about trying to play with the least amount of tension/force necessary...I have backed off of practicing today and yesterday entirely. Thinking back on my practice, I believe this started when I was learning a tune with a hellacious stretch. I honestly shouldn't have tried it, because it just "felt wrong" and I'm old enough to know better and trust my instincts.

Anyway, I'm just wondering from those of you that may have had this type of thing:

what are some things I can do to prevent?
how long before it goes away?
what are some "treatments" ie...cold compress or hot etc.

Ken-pa

Re: Nerve pain in palm of hand

Post by Ken-pa » Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:25 pm

I've had seemingly similar issues that were corrected by wearing an immobilizing brace at night. Best advice I can give though is to have it checked out by your physician so you know exactly what you're dealing with. That's what I did.

robin loops

Post by robin loops » Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:44 pm

Is the pain concentrated on the group of muscles that connect to the thumb? And if you tap on it (along the 'seam' between the thumb group of muscles and the inner palm area) does it feel numb (or tingly)? If so it could be a lot like the problem I had. I was chronic tendonitis and if not checked could have easily turned into full blown carpel tunnel. I thought this was due to past injuries and general physiology of my hands and therefore would always be a limitation.