seeking beginner (sort of) resources for a specific purpose

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
JakeAcci

seeking beginner (sort of) resources for a specific purpose

Post by JakeAcci » Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:34 am

Hi everybody, I feel a little background for my question will lead to more productive responses.

I am a guitarist but not a classically trained guitarist. I play other styles (mostly jazz) and have had a very consistent private teaching practice for the past ten years or so.

I have several classical guitar method books: solo guitar playing book 1 and 2 by Frederick Noad, and Pumping Nylon. I have a few other random books of classical guitar music.

I also have had on and off problems with extreme pain in my shoulders, arms, and hands for about eight years, for which I've received various treatments.

In the process of managing my symptoms I completely revamped my technique (I used to play in the standard 'rock n roll' way) and now try to play most things with what I would call 'classical guitar position' for the hands and the body, with some modifications. My technique is a combination of what I learned from the books mentioned, doctors and physical therapists I have seen, some things I have learned from lurking this forum, as well as some help from guitarists I have studied with (not classical guitar teachers, though.) I also have been studying Alexander Technique for about five months (still trying to get out of that chair!) and am trying to apply those principles to the guitar.