Hand Injury

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
GuitarChris

Hand Injury

Post by GuitarChris » Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:46 pm

I posted earlier that i was just coming back from a hand injury. The doctor diagnosed as tendonitis with some milod carpalo tunnel symptoms... Since the injury i read two GREAT books that i would reccommend to any string players: "Playing Less Hurt"- Janet Horvath, and "The Athletic Musician"- Paul and Harrison. In these books i read a lot about the importance of stretching and taking breaks- neither of which i had done previously. Also i learned not to try and play through pain. I am still trying to figure out why the injury happened...I dont believe it to be poor technique because i am studying guitar in college.. Perhaps it was simply overuse? At the time of the injury iwas practicing guitar about 3 hours per day and piano 2 hours with no days off... Can anyone shed any light?

Dreadnought

Post by Dreadnought » Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:49 pm

That sounds like an overuse injury, which may have resulted from prolong usage with improper technique.

A classical pianist I know has some wrist problems in one of his hands, but he's studying with a professional concert pianist and his technique has greatly improved, and consequently the amount of "injuries" he has recieved has diminished.

I'm not expert though; are you sure you are/were using proper technique, and not overusing improper techniques?

Florentin Tise

Post by Florentin Tise » Sat Jul 29, 2006 5:12 pm

Chris, thank you for sharing your experience. I also experienced something similar.

It started when I was a teen, playing steel-string guitar with the youth group at our church. We had to change a lot of keys, so I ended up playing a lot of bar chords. I started having pain in my left hand. I didn't know I should not play through pain, so it got quite bad.