Inquiry

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Silent

Inquiry

Post by Silent » Mon Sep 28, 2015 7:05 pm

I started playing again after 35 years. This is my first classical/nylon string experience. I noticed if I extend my fingers and thumb on my picking hand and relax through both free and rest strokes, things buzz, the nail and pad part of the finger inadvertantly touch a vibrating string. So, I am trying this. Kind of difficult to explain but allow me to exaggerate. I press straight down and make a semi circular movement. More of a pluck than a horizontal action used when strumming with a pick. This seems to get the string vibrating in a more vertical orientation and eliminates the buzz from other vibrating strings slapping against particularly the back of my thumbnail.
I do not want to form bad habits. Been there, limited my playing long ago. Please comment and educate me.
Thank you all.

celestemcc

Re: Inquiry

Post by celestemcc » Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:00 pm

My first inclination is to wonder if you need higher-tension strings, as you shouldn't be getting a "buzz". Is the guitar set up right? A too-low action, or strings that are too low-tension, might contribute to the problem.

That said... you mention a string vibrating against your thumbnail... and extending your fingers...can you elaborate a little? I'm having a hard time visualizing this. Perhaps even a short video clip, the better to understand what you're describing... and, have you found a good teacher? :D
2015 Connor spruce/Indian rosewood
1978 Ramirez 1a cedar

pogmoor

Post by pogmoor » Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:30 pm

Silent wrote:Kind of difficult to explain but allow me to exaggerate. I press straight down and make a semi circular movement. More of a pluck than a horizontal action used when strumming with a pick.