Collapsing 4th Finger Problem

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
remmus

Collapsing 4th Finger Problem

Post by remmus » Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:00 pm

One of my students is a 12 year old boy whom I've been teaching for about 2 years now. His collapsing finger problem has greatly improved over time with the only one still consistently collapsing is his 4th finger on the left hand. Yesterday during his lesson he told me that his finger hurt and wanted to use his 3rd finger instead of his 4th. We tried various ways to see if he could fret with his 4th finger and yet keep it from collapsing straight but he could not keep it curved. He says the pain is between the knuckle of the hand and the middle knuckle on his 4th finger. I thought I would post a couple of pictures of his finger while fretting and see if anyone had any suggestions on what might be tried to improve his situation. I was hoping that over time he would build enough guitar muscles to finally stop this from happening and it seems to have worked for his other fingers but not for his 4th finger. Does anyone have any ideas what he could be doing to help prevent his finger from collapsing?

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"...it is awfully easy to become content with a level below what one is actually capable of." - Carl Peter

Anthony Campanella

Re: Collapsing 4th Finger Problem

Post by Anthony Campanella » Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:32 pm

Finger exercises away from the guitar?
Squeezing a rubber ball used to be recommended to develop finger strength

wianno

Post by wianno » Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:07 am

Here's a second for squeezing a ball. Try a WTA QuickStart low compression (foam) ball. They come in two sizes, the smaller one should do the trick. They are available in any sporting goods store that sells tennis equipment.

Jack

Matt Molloy

Post by Matt Molloy » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:51 am