Hello from The Hague, Netherlands

r.bertsch

Hello from The Hague, Netherlands

Post by r.bertsch » Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:14 am

Hello,

I am a new member of Delcamp and want to introduce myself with this message.
I am a retired teacher since 2005. I have been working for 30 years in Special Education with mentally handicapped children.
And after that I switched to teaching Dutch for foreigners.
Since my retirement I fill my spare time with giving private lessons Dutch to our immigrants and expats.

During my whole life I was interested in the guitar and when I was 10 years old I started playing ukelele.
An uncle of mine noticed that I had a special talent for this. Therefore he gave me a (jazz)guitar and he payed for my guitarlessons.
After a while I also took classical guitarlessons with the books of Sagreras. I did the first five books.
In the meantime I also started several popbands playing electric sologuitar, but finally I sticked to the classical guitar
Consequently my guitars became better and better. From a Teller guitar to a Sanchis Carpio to a Ramirez 1A Camera with a cedar top. This one had fantastic sound and projection but the mensur was 66,5 cm and appeared to be too big for my hands. So after many years I decided to sell it to a friend with a little sadness.
And then this friend sold it through to somebody in England. So I wonder where it is now.
Then I ordered a new guitar by Richard Heeres in The Hague. He built a copy of a Ramirez model from 1912. That is the one I am playing since 5 years.
It is a very good instrument with a very light action and a clear sound.

In the meantime I also like to play duo and quartet.
My favourite guitarmusic are the Spanish composers like Albeniz, Granados, Llobet, Tarrega, etc
I grew up in the time of Segovia, Bream, Williams and attended many concerts of them(except Segovia)
I also met the fantastic Brazilian guitarist/performer Dagoberto Linhares. You should hear him on his website.
He is one of my favourites.